Last Updated: Fri Dec 16 2016
An Interagency Research and Development Committee for Safer Ship Structures
On-Going Projects
Contact Us

Search Reports
Educational Case Studies
Research Recommendations

About SSC
SSC Symposium
SSC History
Principal Members
Liaison Members

Principal Members

RADM Paul F. Thomas, U.S. Coast Guard
SSC Co-Chairman

Biography: Rear Admiral Thomas serves as the Assistant Commandant for Prevention Policy overseeing three Coast Guard directorates: Commerical Regulations and Standards, Inspections and Compliance, and Marine Transportation Systems. (MORE)

RDML Lorin Selby, U.S. Navy
SSC Co-Chairman

Biography: Rear Admiral Selby is the current Chief Engineer and Deputy Commander for Ship Design, Integration and Naval Engineering. (MORE)

Mr. Jeffrey Lantz, USCG Commercial Vessel Engineering

Biography: Mr. Lantz is Director, Commercial Regulations and Standards (CG-5PS). His responsibilities include the development of U.S. national maritime safety and environmental protection regulations and policies, and overseeing U.S. initiatives in the development of international maritime safety, security, and environmental protection standards. (MORE)

Mr. Albert Curry, USCG Fleet Engineering

Biography: Mr. Curry currently serves as the Acting Deputy Assistant Commandant for Engineering and Logistics (CG-4D) for the U.S. Coast Guard. He is a 26-year veteran officer of the US Navy, and is a member of the Surface Navy and National Naval Officer Associations. (MORE)

Mr. Howard Fireman, American Bureau of Shipping

Biography: Mr. Fireman, ABS Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, joined the organization in 2013. In his current role, Fireman is responsible for directing the society's technology resources and overseeing rule development initiatives, including their strategic alignment with ABS operating divisions. (MORE)

Mr. H. Paul Cojeen, SNAME T&R Steering Committee

Biography: Mr. Cojeen represents SNAME and is an active member on the society's T&R Steering Committee, as well as the Committees on Hull Structures, Hull Instrumentation, and Ship Controllability. He is a retiree of the U.S. Coast Guard after 28 years of distinguished service, and currently volunteers on the CG Retiree Council and as mentor at the Naval Academy in Annapolis. (MORE)

Mr. Kevin D. Baetsen, Military Sealift Command

Biography: Mr. Baetsen was named the Engineering Director at Military Sealift Command (MSC) in 2004. In this capacity, he directs the command's engineering, maritime regulatory body, safety, environmental, life cycle management and ship acquisition transfer programs and policy. (MORE)

Dr. Thomas C. Fu, Office of Naval Research

Biography: Dr. Fu is the Director of the Ship Systems and Engineering Research Division Sea Warfare and Weapons Department Office of Naval Research (ONR). He is responsible for research programs advancing hull, mechanical and electrical systems, as well as the National Naval Responsibiity for Naval Engineering. (MORE)

Mr. Kevin Kohlmann, Maritime Administration

Biography: Mr. Kevin Kohlmann is the Director of Safety at the Maritime Administration in which he identifies safety issues for the maritime industry and recommends changes. (MORE)

Mr. Richard Wiersteiner, Naval Sea Systems Command

Biography: Mr. Wiersteiner is the Director of the Ship Integrity and Performance Group (SEA 05P) at the Naval Sea Systems Command (NAVSEA).

Mr. Luc Briesbois, Transport Canada

Biography: Mr Briesbois is the Executive Director, Domestic Vessel Regulatory Oversight & Boating Safety for Transport Canada.

Dr. John MacKay, Defence Research and Development Canada

Biography: Dr. MacKay is the Head of Warship Performance, Atlantic Research Centre, Defence Research and Development Canada

For more information, contact: LT Joshua A. Kapusta - Executive Director, Ship Structure Committee.